The Number 8…and Volleyball

Tonight was Alex’s first volleyball game.  She is #8.  Her brothers were #8 at some given time with the sports they played.  Must be our lucky number…or the Y sees an Andersen and says “oooh…number 8!”

It became a family affair.  Her older brothers were drafted to keep score.  Grandpa was there.  Brian was able to watch for a few minutes before he had to leave for work.  I was a little late since games start the same time I get off work.

It didn’t take long for the crowd to place me as Alex’s mom.  When they did the comments started.  

“How old is she?”  (She doesn’t look nine.  She looks six.  When strangers ask her how old she is she always pipes back “I’m nine but yeah I know I look like I’m six.”)

“She is SOOO cute!”

“She is doing so well!”

She was the game sweetheart.  And, shortly after I got there, she scored her first point with a crafty serve. 

Above all she had fun…and glowed the whole night.  I’m surprised she even took her jersey off. 

I don’t think either of us can wait until her next game on Wednesday night.

Leave a comment